Skip to content

Graduation Day

March 17, 2010
tags:

It seems like only yesterday that my Turd started school.  It was only September that he did start attending his little Japanese School but who’s keeping track anyway?  Tuesday, March 16 was his official end of the semester/school year/period.  The kids are out of school for the next couple of months (I think).  By the time school starts back up for Turd’s little friends, we’ll be in Tampa hopefully starting a new school too!  

Ya know, when I look at these pictures I realize that my kid isn’t as big as I thought he was.  You see, ever since he was about 4 months old people would tell me how BIG my baby was.  And I just nodded and agreed and went on my merry way.  Didn’t really think too much of it.  But judging by the rest of the kids in these photos, he looks pretty average!  That’s all a mom really wants for her child.  To be of average height/weight/size.  Now the girls, well most of them are Okinawan and they’re just naturally tiny/petite/small.  I, on the other hand, have never been called tiny/petite/small.  I have always been called short-waisted/hard to find jeans for/broad.  I think people were just trying to dance around the fact that I am slightly thicker than the average girl.  But whatever.  I can’t help for the way that I am.  I was raised on carbohydrates.  It’s what was always for dinner.  

Now this boy, I’m really trying hard to help him lead a healthy life as far as what’s on his plate.  I try to make sure that there is a veggie on his tray.  He loves broccoli.  Don’t ask me why.  I honestly believe that he likes it so much because they look like little trees.  I’ve force-fed him peas and cauliflower but they just don’t add up to the little trees.  He definitely is a carnivore.  He loves him some meat.  No worries there.  As for the carbs, he sure does love them too but if Momma and Daddy aren’t having them, then neither is the Turd.  He does love him some Yakisoba and Soba (two noodle dishes), so I let that be.  

Onto more exciting things.  Eating healthy is very important but we came here to talk about Graduation!  Look at this cheeseball!  What an exciting day for him!

Before we go too much further with the pictures, let me just say that I did not teach him how to smile this way.  I usually don’t ask him to smile.  I usually ask him to look at me.  And then he does faces like that.  But I do love his little scrunchy face.  Makes me want to bite his cheeks.  Except, that may be bad.  We’ve taught him the no biting rule maybe I should abide by it.

Can he be any cuter?!  I mean, come on!  Is it the outfit?  Is it the hair?  Is it the eyes?  Is it his freakin’ cheeks?!

More so, I think it’s his personality.  I see the Okinawan ladies especially, giggle at him when we pass them by in the store or wherever.  Because he’s usually talking about a mile a minute and pretty loudly too.  He hasn’t quite mastered the whispering thing yet.  Guess that’s what church is for.  I sure learned how to whisper in 3 seconds when I went to church.  Or else I got taken to the crying room or out to the car and my mom’s hand met my back end.  Actually, that’s a lie.  I don’t think my mom ever spanked me.  But she sure could yell loud enough to make my ass hurt.Makes your heart melt, doesn’t it?  The longer he holds this smile, the squintier his eyes get.  It doesn’t get any more precious than this!  Oh no, wait!  Yes it does.  Picture him buck-ass naked and him smiling like this.  Yup, made you laugh didn’t I?

I strayed from the whole point of this post again, didn’t I?  Turd’s Graduation.  Yes, this little man graduated from the Angel Class.  Had we been staying another year or so, he would be going to the D-san’s class next (I think).  Which would be like going from Preschool to Kindergarten in the States.  Except he’s only 3.  So maybe he’d just be graduating to a more advanced preschool in the States?  

I found myself with tears in my eyes right about now.  I think it was more because this was the beginning of many “ends” we’ll be making in the next week and half.  It’s sad we’re leaving lovely Okinawa.  Home for the last 6 years.  The longest place we’ve ever lived together as a family for both Paul and I and the 3 of us.  We’ll be saying goodbye to many friends.  We’ll be bidding farewell to our favorite restaurants and our favorite stores.  

I hope to find a small community of Okinawans in Tampa so that I can still speak my terrible Japanese and insult them when I say something terribly wrong.  But I heard that I will need to brush up on my Spanish.  Brush up?!  I took French in High School!  Don’t suppose anybody will need for me to count to 10 in French and point me to the nearest  le Biblioteque?!

I will miss the friendly smiles of Okinawa.  I will miss these two very patient Senseis.  I mean, they have to be patient don’t they?!  Who else would put up with a dozen 3-4 year olds constantly having to go pee-pee or having an accident in their pants or spilling their drink or hitting or kicking or whatever?  Do you see me raising my hand?  I don’t think so!

Oh I just love this picture.  Peace!  That’s just what I hope for my heart when I leave this island.  Peace in my heart that this is what’s supposed to happen and someday we’ll get to come back to Oki.  I’ll plant my butt down and never leave this great place.  It sure has taught me a lot about myself and who I am.  I’ll never forget that.

Most of all, Okinawa gave me this baby.  If it weren’t for good ‘ol Oki, there probably would’ve never been this little Turd.

OKI ALL DAY!

4 Comments
  1. March 21, 2010 11:23

    Haha love that big grin!!!

  2. Nancy Arnett permalink
    March 20, 2010 20:10

    He is just the cutest thing ever! We will miss you guys ! I will miss that Philip greeting Addie and I in the mornings:) Please keep in touch!
    Many hugs
    Nancy

  3. March 19, 2010 15:47

    Scrunchy face totally looks like you Steph! LOL

  4. March 18, 2010 11:00

    OMG- I loved this post. First time visiting your blog but I enjoyed this post about your little man so much. He is a true cutie, his scrunched up smile is the best.

Comments are closed.

