Skip to content

Marine Corps Silent Drill Team

March 5, 2010

And Drum and Bugle Corps.  I cannot forget to mention them!  But I edited the Silent Drill Team’s photos first.

Let me being by saying that this performance was outstanding!  I’ve seen many videos of the Silent Drill Team but nothing compares to sitting in the audience and watching it live.  I can’t say that it was at all silent though.  I have to say that I may have been the most annoying guest at the show today.  Anyone that was sitting around me probably wished that I’d just shut my camera off and shove it in my bag so they could enjoy the performance in silence.  My dear hubs finally told me to, “Knock it off!  That’s really annoying!”  I felt it.  I heard it.  I knew it.  But did I stop?  Nope.  I do not learn.  To my credit, I did try to figure out how to turn the shutter sound off.  Couldn’t find it.  I was wasting too much time looking for that when I could have been snapping away!

Here.  Just imagine the shutter going off every couple of seconds:

At this point, I’ve decided to snap along with the clicking of the guns.  Makes sense huh?  But I began to see that I was missing all the action.  A Few Good Men.  Do they all look that, um….Sexy?

Now this one is probably the coolest photo. I had originally snapped it and it was way off center. I was trying to get all the guns in there. But when I cropped it in tighter, I just got this amazing, intenseness! It would've only been better had I been hovering right over the top of them! Awesomeness!

Gah!  Chills.  Can you just feel the power?

Dude's not even going to bat an eye. He'll barely move to catch the flying gun!

You can just see the tip of the gun just above the other dude who’s back is toward us.

And Bam! Like Butta!

Yup. Still got it.

If I were your mother, I’d be crying and I would have been standing in the bleachers the whole time.  Just because I’d be darn proud of you!

Speaking of pride.  There was definitely a huge sense of pride running through me during that performance.  I don’t know how anyone wouldn’t.  I mean, those toy soldiers all dressed up in their uniforms and oozing United States Marine Corps Pride baby!  I didn’t tell them that my hubs is United States Air Force.  But the pride was still there baby!  Woo Hoo!

13 Comments
  1. Heather permalink
    March 11, 2010 04:30

    Very cool, great pics!

  2. March 10, 2010 11:18

    Great Shots!!! 🙂

  3. March 10, 2010 10:54

    WOW, gives me chills! Great photos!

  4. March 9, 2010 05:11

    Wow! These are beautiful against the green field.

  5. March 9, 2010 03:31

    These are great!! Not everyone gets to witness something like this first hand! Thanks for sharing!

  6. March 9, 2010 02:37

    What a cool experience-great shots!

  7. March 8, 2010 11:35

    Great captures! I bet this was an amazing performance.

  8. March 8, 2010 09:27

    What a great even to capture! You did a great job.

  9. March 8, 2010 06:40

    i bet that was amazing! great images!

  10. March 8, 2010 06:11

    These are fantastic!

  11. March 8, 2010 04:45

    Wow! I can’t imagine seeing that in person! Way to capture it all!

  12. March 8, 2010 03:42

    Wow! I’m sure it would have given me goosebumps to watch this in person! Great shots!

  13. Charlene permalink
    March 8, 2010 00:43

    Amazing opportunity to see that. Your photos are great!

Comments are closed.

