Skip to content

Nago Cherry Blossom Festival

February 1, 2010

Right now, I should be commencing with Operation Clean-up/Purge in the house but I feel obligated to post my Cherry Blossom Festival pics.  I honestly, didn’t take very many pictures because last week’s post from Nakajin Castle outshined this week’s.

There was a week full of sunshine for the Cherry Blossoms to bloom so there were definitely lots of beautiful pink flowers to capture but I may have gotten carried away by all the neat treats there were at the food booths!

Let me show you my shots of the Blossoms:

One treat in particular, we found very yummy!  In all of it’s awesomeness, it’s just a strawberry but a candied strawberry!  Who was I to say no to that?!

These babies were lying in a bed of sugar. Yup, that's how I'd like to die...in a bed of sugar covered with a lollipop coating. Maybe not with a stick running through my body and maybe not having someone eat me either. But in any case...

(drool)

I think these were lollipop coated bananas! Yes, I just said bananas!

(agrllllll, drool)

And I believe these were lollipop coated apples! Freakin' APPLES!

(wiping drool from mouth)

Right next to the strawberries was the strawberry mochi.  I’m not the biggest fan of mochi but Paul loves it.  Mochi (Japanese) is a Japanese rice cake made of glutinous rice pounded into paste and molded into shape. In Japan it is traditionally made in a ceremony called mochitsuki[1]. While also eaten year-round, mochi is a traditional food for the Japanese New Year and is commonly sold and eaten during that time. Mochi is also a prominent snack in Hawaii and Taiwan.(Wikipedia)

We went walking along and we found this:

We played some games.  Mostly duck pulling games.  Turd is a great duck puller.  LOL.  Here we are stopped for a rest watching the wee Eisa Dancers and Turd is in awe of them.  

Here Paul is teaching my son the proper way to hold his play gun.  Yeah, for some reason lots of prizes were play guns.  I’m not a fan of them.  But for the day, he got to play with it.  He played with it backwards for most of the day, but whatever.  He’s 3.  I’m not ready for him to learn about guns yet.  Maybe I’ll take him deer hunting one year with Grandpa Dave and my brothers and they can show him how to use a gun.  But I have years for that.

Oh here’s a great pic of my better half.  See all the pretty Cherry Blossoms?We climbed like a few hundred steps to get here.  Paul and Turdy went further up to see what there was to see at the top of Mt. Nago.  I went back down to take some time to see if I could get some great pics of the Blossoms.  I got a text from Paul saying that there was absolutely NOTHING up there.  I’m glad I didn’t go.

I didn’t have one of these because I was sweeted out!But they sure looked good!

By the time we got back on the bus to go back to base, I was exhausted!  It was hotter than we thought it was going to be.  We all wore jeans and long-sleeved shirts.  We didn’t roast but we were warm enough.  I took a nappy on the smooth bus ride back.  You’d think Turd would have too but I kept dreaming that he was talking to me saying things like, “Momma, where are we going now?  Are we going on a bus ride tomorrow too?  Daddy, is Mommy sleeping?  Why isn’t she talking to me?  Wake up Momma!”

I may not have been dreaming.

Comments are closed.

