Skip to content

Throwing Rocks

November 8, 2009

DSC_0016

It was a beautiful day out yesterday so instead of being stuck inside our house, I suggested we go to the seawall and go for a nice, long walk.  I love the seawall!  So we stepped down to one of our favorite spots to throw rocks.  Throwing rocks is not really my cup of tea but for boys, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do!  And to get my little one’s head outta my butt, A GIRL’S GOTTA DO WHAT A GIRL’S GOTTA DO!

As I was saying, it was a gorgeous day.  DSC_0017

It’s days like this that make me already miss Okinawa.  But I keep telling myself that Florida will most likely have tons of days like this.  Hopefully more in the 70’s rather than the 80’s and 90’s.  I’m not so keen on the hotter temps.  So why would someone like me want to stay in Oki or go somewhere like Florida?  Uhhhh, because the beaches are freakin’ awesome!  The island life, the beach bum life.  There’s nothing like it!

And really, if we lived in good ‘ol Minnesota or North Dakota I don’t think that there’d be many opportunities for us to just go for a walk along the seawall because we were bored.DSC_0022

Plus, you can’t find rocks as big as your head to throw in the water so you can get a splash like these!DSC_0055

DSC_0056

DSC_0057

DSC_0059

Where else can you go to find little treasures like these?DSC_0070

DSC_0071

DSC_0072

DSC_0073

Along the seawall, people pay to graffiti a certain amount of space.  Or at least I think they pay.  I’ve seen a sign somewhere along it asking people to contact so-and-so if you would like to design a piece of the wall.  I love each and every piece of art on that wall!  They change from time to time and it’s really cool to notice those subtle changes.  This one here is rather new.  Probably because of his untimely death:DSC_0075

There always seems to be a bike along the wall.  If it’s a really old looking, antique thing I will snap it.  Just because I feel like it.  And for some reason, I am drawn to old bikes.  Or rusty ones.  DSC_0076

Where else can you pop a squat and enjoy a refreshing sip of something totally Oki?DSC_0099

DSC_0101

DSC_0102

How about a picture of the 3 of us?DSC_0103

And how about my little muscle man?DSC_0121He’s a snorkeling Shisa in this one.DSC_0122There’s the muscle man!  Peace!

It’s doubtful that I’ll find half of these things in Florida but I can imagine that we will find other things that are unique to it.  The more I think about missing Oki, the more I get excited about Florida.  I think about the many visitors we will have.  I think about the ease of travelling a few hours to see friends and family instead of days.  I think about my little Turd growing up in the good ‘ol US of A.  It’s advantages and disadvantages.  I worry too.  I worry about that missing child out of Florida that I just heard about the other day.  I worry about how many sexual offenders that are going to be living in the same town that I live in.  I worry about finding a great pre-school for Turd.  I worry about finding a job that’s near his pre-school.  I worry about Paul’s new job.  Oh dear, I could go on and on.  But I won’t because I think you may have an idea of how I’m feeling.

As I sit here to write this post, my boys are out riding bikes.  It is once again, a beautiful day outside and they are enjoying the sun and fun while I do laundry and type away in my blog.  I love my blog.  I love posting pictures of my family even if there is nobody out there reading it.  Blogging is fun.  Blogging takes up a lot of my time.  Blogging is addictive.  Blogging has become my hobby.  I must stop this blog before it gets outta control!

Comments are closed.

