Skip to content

Stanley

October 8, 2009

My big brother Brian, emailed me a couple of weeks ago to ask me if I would give him my address so that he could send me a Flat Stanley and take him on a tour of Okinawa for my niece Maddie.  So of course I said yes and when Stanley came outta my mailbox, I wondered where I would take him.  Saturday rolled around and we decided that it might be fun to take him to Toguchi Beach.  Probably one of my favorite beaches on the island.  The previous day, I had spent some alone time hanging out there by myself because I had time to kill before my toe appointment.  I sat there and reminisced about our 6 years here on the island and thought about how much I would miss my days here.  I thought about how much I’d miss the smell of the ocean and the feeling I got when I rubbed the salt off my face.  (What a nice natural exfoliator!)  Oh, I could go on and on but I won’t bore you with those details.  And I won’t put myself through that suffering because I may just curl up in a ball and then eventually into the fetal position only to be crying in such agony because they are making me leave my beautiful Okinawa!  Aaackk!

So where was I?  Oh yes, Saturday!  Toguchi Beach!  Flat Stanley!  Let’s check out the pictures and let them tell the story:

We begin at the Ramen Noodle place called Tan Tan.

We begin at the Ramen Noodle place called Tan Tan.

DSC_0002

Ooop, don't fall in Stan!

Ooop, don't fall in Stan!

Gyoza! (Stanley was well versed in Japanese food before we stepped inside the restaurant.)

Gyoza! (Stanley was well versed in Japanese food before we stepped inside the restaurant.)

Bite #1 of the spicy Tan Tan noodle!  Yummm!

Bite #1 of the spicy Tan Tan noodle! Yummm!

Bite #2.  He likes it, he likes it!

Bite #2. He likes it, he likes it!

Kimuchi.  Spicer but yummy also!

Kimuchi. Spicer but yummy also!

Here we are at Toguchi Beach.  We've just arrived and Turd Boy turns around and flashes me the peace sign.  It's been since Disney that we've seen that!

Here we are at Toguchi Beach. We've just arrived and Turd Boy turns around and flashes me the peace sign. It's been since Disney that we've seen that!

Stan insisted that he walk himself but I was afraid he'd disintegrate.

Stan insisted that he walk himself but I was afraid he'd disintegrate.

Wow!  What a beautiful beach.

Wow! What a beautiful beach.

DSC_0015

Cool rocks!

Cool rocks!

DSC_0019

The tide was out.  Imagine how deep the water would be if the tide was in!  Look closely and look for a dark line on the rocks.  That's how deep it would be!

The tide was out. Imagine how deep the water would be if the tide was in! Look closely and look for a dark line on the rocks. That's how deep it would be!

Lovely coral.

Lovely coral.

DSC_0031

DSC_0038

DSC_0047

DSC_0051

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

I made Stanley stay behind with me.  I felt like he was much safer with me inside my bag than with the boys.  Stan was tired anyway…he needed a nap.

Now here’s a fun little series of photos that I took in a matter of a minute!  For some reason, when I got eye level with my Turdy, he attacked me!

DSC_0061

DSC_0062

DSC_0076

DSC_0063

DSC_0064

DSC_0068

DSC_0069

DSC_0070

DSC_0071

Oh, I think this one is my favvy!

Oh, I think this one is my favvy!

DSC_0073

DSC_0074

DSC_0076

DSC_0078

DSC_0079Oh!  I changed my mind!  I think this one is my favvy!

Lunch money!  Gimme yo' lunch money!  (D, that's for you!  We miss you!)

Lunch money! Gimme yo' lunch money! (D, that's for you! We miss you!)

Sorry, kinda got off track.  Back to Stan.

Sorry, kinda got off track. Back to Stan.

Leaving the beach area and onto the hill.

Leaving the beach area and onto the hill.

What a pretty scene.

What a pretty scene.

Here's Stan in the scene!

Here's Stan in the scene!

A nice picnic area or party area.  Whatever you choose :)

A nice picnic area or party area. Whatever you choose 🙂

And last but not least, Stan got to go down a roller slide.  Fuuuuun!

And last but not least, Stan got to go down a roller slide. Fuuuuun!

Several times down the slide later, we finally went home!  What an awesome time we had with Flat Stanley!  Always a new experience when we go to the beach!

Several times down the slide later, we finally went home! What an awesome time we had with Flat Stanley! Always a new experience when we go to the beach!

Comments are closed.

