Skip to content

September 11, 2009

September 12, 2009

Just like last year and every year on this very same day, Turdy will always share this day with rememberance of those who sacrificed thier lives for our freedom.  He doesn’t quite understand the part where a whole bunch of people died on his birthday because I’ve never told him.  When he is old enough to understand that his BIRTH DAY is his happy, excited, spoiled day and not his sad, mournful and depressing day, I will tell him.  I haven’t quite figured out how to separate those two differences on this special day.  When I do, he will realize his birthday is just a little bit more special to this family than most.

On a much lighter note, this is still Turdy’s birthday and the number 3 seems to be a big one here in this house!  I felt like this birthday should be celebrated big because of the many “lasts” that we’ll be experiencing in the coming months.  So this being Turdy’s last birthday on Okinawa, it had to be big.

His birthday was on Friday, so I sent him to school in his dorky iron-on transfer shirt that I make him every year.  Which he loved by the way!  He was so upset that he got all poopy in the clothes he went to school in that the first thing he said to me when I came to pick him up was, “Momma!  You have to wash my burday shirrt!  I got poo poo on it!”  So the first thing I did when we got home that day, was put his birthday shirt in the wash so he could wear it for the rest of the day.  When it came out of the dryer, he was so glad he could put it back on!

Here is my squirt with the tacky, cheesy, cornball t-shirt that I make him every year!  Of course different every year but nonetheless, dorky!  He won't realize this until he's much older!  Let's hope!

Here is my squirt with the tacky, cheesy, cornball t-shirt that I make him every year! Of course different every year but nonetheless, dorky! He won't realize this until he's much older! Let's hope!

So now, let’s fast-forward to his birthday party!  I really didn’t have much for decorations because I’m just not much of a decorator.  In the end, it was so nice not to have to tear down a butt-ton of stuff and haul it back home.  I found a few things @ the 100 Yen store and just threw it all away after the party was over.

I was lucky that they even stayed up!  All I had was packing tape.  With all the wind and sand, I think it was an act of the Party Gods!

I was lucky that they even stayed up! All I had was packing tape. With all the wind and sand, I think it was an act of the Party Gods!

On with the show!  So I initially had a ridiculously expensive cake planned out and it was going to be made by one of the many talented cake ladies on this island but she called me the Thursday before Turdy’s party and said that she was to have surgery.  Surgery on a hernia.  A hernia that she could’ve lived through making Turdy’s cake.  How dare she cancel on me last minute!  Coudn’t she have postponed her surgery until Monday?!  But in her defense, she was very sweet and said that it upset her to cancel the cake and if weren’t for her surgery, this never would’ve happened.  I told her I understood but was panicking on the inside.  So I called a friend who had fabulous cakes for both of her daughters’ birthdays but she said that her cake lady wasn’t all that reliable either.  So my last resort was to go to the Commissary on base and just order a cheap cake.  I sent my dear hubs to order them, along with my sweet birthday boy and they came home and told me they got 2 cakes, 1 Diego cake and 1 Lightning McQueen cake!  Both the small one’s, but 2 to satisfy the buttercream lovers and whipped cream lovers 🙂  DSC_0012

DSC_0013

Since we were having Turdy’s party  at the beach and at a Splash Park, he was pretty much going to be wearing swimming trunks.  But when I was at the 100 Yen store, I found the perfect thing to dress him up!

Everybody loved the tie and turtle hat.  I was really surprised that he kept his tie on all day.  The turtle hat came off every now and then but for the most part, it was on top of his head!

Everybody loved the tie and turtle hat. I was really surprised that he kept his tie on all day. The turtle hat came off every now and then but for the most part, it was on top of his head!

May I highly recommend the Splash Pad at Torii Station?!  Do these kids not look like they’re having the time of thier lives?!DSC_0024

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

DSC_0044

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

DSC_0053

DSC_0077

DSC_0081

DSC_0083

DSC_0085

DSC_0043

DSC_0047

I finally have a nice picture to show off of me and 2 of my good friends.DSC_0074

We had Subway Sammiches for lunch:DSC_0109

DSC_0112

DSC_0113

DSC_0116

He didn't eat but 3 bites of his sammy but he sure did eat all of his Cheetos!

He didn't eat but 3 bites of his sammy but he sure did eat all of his Cheetos!

This one was so tired from playing at the Splash Pad that she fell asleep at the picnic table eating her sammy.  She fell right off that picnic table and when Daddy picked her up, she just fell right back asleep!

This one was so tired from playing at the Splash Pad that she fell asleep at the picnic table eating her sammy. She fell right off that picnic table and when Daddy picked her up, she just fell right back asleep!

DSC_0117

DSC_0118

All the wee one’s finished thier sammy’s and were immediately asking when it was going to be cake time so I obliged because there were a few parents that were eager to dip into some buttercream!

We finally get to dig into the cake!

We finally get to dig into the cake!

How old are you?!

How old are you?!

Vroom Vroom!

Vroom Vroom!

And who doesn’t love a stinkin’ SnoKone?!?!  And boy was it a welcome treat today!  It was hotter than my frying pan…Ever!  DSC_0169

DSC_0168

DSC_0174

DSC_0175

DSC_0176

DSC_0170

And then for the Grande Finale, presents!DSC_0195

DSC_0196

DSC_0200

DSC_0206

DSC_0210

DSC_0225

DSC_0230

DSC_0235

DSC_0241Overall, I think this kid had a pretty great day.  I think I’ve outdone my self.  I don’t know if I can top this year’s party.  There’s definitely no way that we can have a Torii Splash Pad/Beach party!

Comments are closed.

