Skip to content

Bento

August 31, 2009
tags:

As explained in Wikipedia:

Bentō (弁当 or べんとう?) is a single-portion takeout or home-packed meal common in Japanese cuisine. A traditional bento consists of ricefish or meat, and one or more pickled or cooked vegetables as a side dish. Containers range from disposablemass produced to hand crafted lacquerware. Although bento is readily available in many places throughout Japan, includingconvenience stores, bento shops (弁当屋 bentō-ya?)train stations, and department stores, it is still common for Japanesehomemakers to spend considerable time and energy producing an appealing boxed lunch.

Bento can be very elaborately arranged in a style called kyaraben. Contests are often held where bento arrangers compete for the most aesthetically pleasing arrangements. Kyaraben is typically decorated to look like people, animals, or characters and items such as flowers and plants.

Here is my version of Turdy’s-1st-day-at-his-new-school-Bento:

The finished product, all tucked inside this very appropriate Stitch bag.  You'll see why tomorrow!

The finished product, all tucked inside this very appropriate Stitch bag. You'll see why tomorrow!

Let me begin that I had no idea what to stuff inside his little Bento box.  So naturally, I searched online for kids lunches.  Found some great ideas but nothing that really said “bento”.  Then recently, I downloaded an Ipod app that’s called AllRecipes.com and I spent many a night trying to find the perfect quicky lunch.  What did I come up with?  Pickle Rolls!  Or Pigs in a Blanket as some of you may know them by.  Turdy loves ham and who wouldn’t love a treat that has a pickle stuck inside it?

How cute are they?

How cute are they?

While at the beloved 100 Yen store, I found plenty of sweet treats for his dessert which I’m almost certain he will eat first!  But I made sure to stick some crackers and some healthy Craisins in there!

Craisins...

Craisins...

SpongeBob

SpongeBob

This Bento is a little smaller than I had it figured for so out come the Craisins which will get thrown in the little bag somewhere and in go the tiny cookies and a jelly candy treat.

Sweets for my sweetie

Sweets for my sweetie

A fork for the 1/2 Asian baby who can’t figure chop sticks out to save his life:DSC_0007

And when it’s been all stuffed up with his little lunch, it snaps together so neatly just like everything in Japan.DSC_0009

Here’s his little place mat they requested I get for him:DSC_0010

And here is everything all stuffed inside as neat as this not-so-very-Korean-girl can get it!DSC_0011

I also got all these precious things at the 100Yen store.  They have everything you may need to fix a Bento!

Sweet little forks for sweet little hands

Sweet little forks for sweet little hands

Adorable little toothpicks to stick into your food creations

Adorable little toothpicks to stick into your food creations

Wet naps that you find at every restaurant in Japan/Oki

Wet naps that you find at every restaurant in Japan/Oki

More picks, I couldn't resist these!

More picks, I couldn't resist these!

So every Tuesday and Thursday I will be packing a Bento for Turdy.  I better come up with a few more lunches because for right now, I only have Pigs in a Blanket!

Genius, isn’t it?  How cute is this?

Comments are closed.

