Skip to content

Garlic in Tokyo

July 31, 2009
tags: ,

It’s been a week and I almost went through some blogging withdrawls but I have the time to sit down today and I wanted to tell you all about this Garlic restaurant in Tokyo.  This restaurant was suggested to us by one of my client’s husbands while they were watching the kids play in my yard and I was doing hair.  My husband had mentioned it to me but I had no idea what this restaurant would do to me!IMG_0356The picture in the middle of the rug looks like a nose.  Must be an indicator of how you’ll smell after you come out!

I kind of just expected this place to have a little garlic in thier dishes but once I actually got to eat the food, I decided I was wrong.

Can't wait to order!  I want everything!

Can't wait to order! I want everything!

Can I have one of everything?!

Can I have one of everything?!

Check out these cute utensils!

Check out these cute utensils!

Mine did not have smiley faces on them.

Look at the nice bar!  Looks like they are all top shelf!  I have no idea what I just said.  I drink beer.

Look at the nice bar! Looks like they are all top shelf! I have no idea what I just said. I drink beer.

Our waiter offered to take our picture.  Too bad I was really sweaty and gross!  My boys always look good.  That's why I keep them.

Our waiter offered to take our picture. Too bad I was really sweaty and gross! My boys always look good. That's why I keep them.

Then our food started to arrive:

This salad was an almost exact image of the salad we used to get at our tiny garlic restaurant we used to frequent here before Turdy was born.  I miss that place :(

This salad was an almost exact image of the salad we used to get at our tiny garlic restaurant we used to frequent here before Turdy was born. I miss that place 😦

What is that, you say?!  Well, it's garlic bread!  Yes, topped with a delicous mound of baked garlic paste!  I am in heaven!

What is that, you say?! Well, it's garlic bread! Yes, topped with a delicous mound of baked garlic paste! I am in heaven!

The waiter says to stuff the garlic inside the bread and then cut it open.  Easier said than done.  I guess he thought I needed help.

Well, he could have given me a butter knife or a spoon to shovel the garlic in there!

Well, he could have given me a butter knife or a spoon to shovel the garlic in there!

Drool!  That garlic bread was so freakin' awesome!  I think I might plan a trip back to Tokyo just for that bread!  Note, that garlic bread was gone in 2.2 seconds.

Drool! That garlic bread was so freakin' awesome! I think I might plan a trip back to Tokyo just for that bread! Note, that garlic bread was gone in 2.2 seconds.

My husband having a complete garlic attack!  Right after this picture was taken, he melted into a pile of garlic mush on the floor.

My husband having a complete garlic attack! Right after this picture was taken, he melted into a pile of garlic mush on the floor.

Pasta!  I am missing a couple of dishes that we ate too fast to take pictures of.  I almost positive we had more than these 3 things!

Pasta! I am missing a couple of dishes that we ate too fast to take pictures of. I almost positive we had more than these 3 things!

After we left Ninniku-ya, Paul and I started planning our next visit to Tokyo!

After we left Ninniku-ya, Paul and I started planning our next visit to Tokyo!

I thought we had a lot more pictures of this place!  I don’t know why we don’t!  Maybe with all the garlic in the pictures, I may have eaten them.  There’s no other explanation.  I will get more next time as we are planning to go to Tokyo again in December!

One Comment
  1. August 1, 2009 05:58

    Oh man, did you frequent Arin Krin? I went once with a girl I knew from school when we first got there, and then we went once with Christina, Mike, Harumi and Miyuki after the Tao concert! Man I wish we had gone more often. I guess I tend to avoid places most Americans like, ya know!

    But we did find a pretty good Sushi place here. Funny enough? It’s called Tokyo!!! t is brand new and opened day before yesterday. We went for lunch yesterday and the sushi is really good! Miso soup is great! But they really didn’t speak a lot of Japanese. One waiter did and then as soon as we greeted him he just started prattling off in Japanese and made me feel completely inadequate, which I shouldn’t have because I did speak more than all the others in the restaurant!!!

    I MISS YOU!!!!!

Comments are closed.

