Skip to content

A Peacock, A Horse And Some Dogs

July 7, 2009
tags:

We had a wonderful 4th of July weekend here at the Borud house.  All 3 of us had Friday off and we took full advantage of the whole day.  Well, it rained a lot but that didn’t stop us!  Paul had to work for the America Fest they had going on down on the flightline.  Turdy and I hadn’t planned on going until later so we could dodge the heat.  We had fun listening to the Lt. Dan Band.  Yes, I’m serious!  They were AWESOME!  Unfortunately, those pictures didn’t turn out so well.  I had my little point and shoot and the stupid thing had trouble pointing and shooting but whatever.

We watched the ever so beautiful fireworks display on the 4th.  We were far enough away from it so the little man didn’t think they were scary this year.

We headed up North to Neo Park on the 5th to check out some animals.  It was a hot one, but worth it to see the look on Turd-Boy’s face!

We happened upon this amazing peacock.  Seems to me that I’ve read somewhere that peacocks raise thier feathers when they feel threatened.  I didn’t think about this until after we had left them alone.  But not before I captured a million pictures like these:

DSC_0444Yup, I was THAT close!  Isn’t he a beaut?!  Or she?  Are peacocks male and female?  Someone educate me!  I’m just the picture-taker here!

DSC_0461Such a fascinating fan of feathers.  If I had one such as this, I’d be very much observed…Imagine my hair styled like this!  Oh wait, this was me back in 1987!

DSC_0441I think I want a wall hanging that looks just like this!  Except for the bird and the feet.  That’d be weird.  I’ll just have the feathers scattered upon my wall in a fan shape.  No stuffed bird.

DSC_0237Wonder Pets, Wonder Pets we’re on our way!  To help a baby animal and save the day!  We’re not too big and we’re not too tough but when we work together we got the right stuff!  GOooooo, Wonder Pets!  Minus Ming Ming!  Oh wait!  Here’s Ming Ming!

DSC_0179Close enough, right?!

And my most proudest moment of the day..or should I say, my husband’s most proudest moment of the day:

DSC_0322Just look at his face!  He’s so darned excited he can’t even hide it!

DSC_0323He can’t contain his smiles!  Cowboy Turd-Boy…Cowboy Turdy…CowTurdBoy!

DSC_0338I could just eat that little face up!  I mean, can you see how much he’s enjoying his ride?

DSC_0350Even at this angle, you can tell he’s having the best time!

DSC_0366And look, he even got to give the precious horse a carrot.  Sweet!

Oh hey!  I forgot to mention fish!  So there were these ginormous fish at the very end.  I thought they were alligators for the size that they were!  It may not look very big here but trust me, they could have eaten all 3 of us for lunch that day.

DSC_0521Yikes.

I almost forgot to show you all my new friends.

DSC_0302How stinkin’ cute is she?  I kinda wanna just eat her up too!  I’d totally stuff this one and have her sit next to the couch forever!

And this sweet little face!

DSC_0295Yummy!  I wanted to stuff her into my purse and carry her around everywhere we went!

Unfortunately, she got tired of me sticking the camera in her face.  But it is one of the things I must do as a serial blogger.  I must take pictures of cute things!  I could seriously do this for a living!  Take pictures of dogs all day!

DSC_0317

Neo Park.  A definite must-do here in Oki.  I think we’ll go back just for the horse ride!

As for the rest of the 4 day weekend, nothing could have beat our day at the park.  So we called it good and relaxed for the rest of the time.

Oh and Turdy is progressing well on the whole potty-training thing.  He came home from school today and told me he needed two M&M’s squared!  Which meant, he pee-peed in the potty twice today!  Woo hoo!  Such a proud moment for me!  Thank God for M&M’s!

4 Comments
  1. July 17, 2009 12:11

    OH TOO CUTE! That is awesome about the M’s (as the boys called them when they were potty training … a million years ago!) I loved it that way though. It really works. I never knew a kid could get so excited about a single M&M (unless it was a models kid or something)…

    And I love the puppies! I totally reminds me of Sake, only white! When they are nice, Chihuahua’s are so stinkin’ cute!

  2. July 9, 2009 09:12

    your photos are looking fantabulous, btw.

    • okistephie permalink*
      July 9, 2009 09:52

      Aviva, that means so much coming from you!

Comments are closed.

