Skip to content

Noodles

May 26, 2009

P1010049

We had a great Memorial Day weekend!  Friday, the hubs had the day off so he slept in.  I had late notice that Friday was going to be a Family Day for the Air Force so there I was working.  Oh well, good thing I love my work!  Turd-Boy went to a short day of daycare so Paul could run some errands.  Saturday, we spent a couple of hours at the beach in the morning.  There wasn’t much swimming going on for the tide was waaaaaaay out and the longer we stayed the more the swim area looked like a garden pool.  But Turd-Boy loved it!  He’s not much for deeper water so ankle deep was just perfect for him!  Somehow both Paul and I ended up with a sunburn.  Yes, we both applied 50 Proof, but I seemed to have forgotten my legs and my cleavage.  Weird!  Two of the strangest places to forget to apply sunscreen.  Luckily, I sunscreened Turdy all over his precious body!  He seems to tan beautifully every stinkin’ time we’re out to the beach!  

Saturday night, we spent some time hanging out with good friends at a going-away party.  Although, it didn’t seem much like a going-away party.  It just seemed like an excuse to get together and party!  There were no long goodbyes and tears.  It was just a fun night sitting around making fun of ourselves for being old and drinking as little as we do.  On a side note, both Paul and I woke up on Sunday morning not feeling the greatest.  I, for one, did not have much to drink at all!  But it still hit me like a ton of bricks!  Paul, on the other hand…enjoyed himself 2 times as much as I did!  He got stumbly.  

So Sunday was a bit of a groggy day.  But Monday we all got up at decent times and we went to have lunch at a little Ramen Noodle place called TanTanMan.  It’s exactly what it is…Ramen Noodles.  We love Ramen Noodles!  Turdy, especially loves Ramen!

P1010050As soon as Turdy got his bowl, I started unloading the noodles onto his tray so they would cool a little faster.  It took no less than 3 seconds for Turdy to start sucking those noodles in his sweet little face!

P1010051As you can see, he’s quite the pro when it comes to noodles.  Face over the tray so’s not to drop any onto the floor.

P1010052Twirling it on his fork like all the best Italians would.  Except for, this is not spaghetti.  And we live in Asia!

P1010053Nooooooodles!  Yuuuuummmmmm!

P1010054Sometimes when we get our noodles we get these strange looking disks of what looks and feels like pork fat.  Here Turdy was about to try it and at the very last second, he decided not to.  I don’t blame him.  But it was pretty and pink and white.  

P1010055What’s he going to do with this, you say?!  He’s going to poke his little eyes out!  Well, my son has inherited my screwed up teeth and he’s been a pro with the toothpicks for awhile now.  

P1010056See?  He knows exactly where to go with it.  His bottom teeth are a little bunched up like mine were when I was young.  Anytime he eats gets food stuck in there, he immediately asks for a “teeth”pick.    

So the waittress comes by to tell me that the kids meal comes with a dessert.  Turdy says, “Oh!  Ice cream?”

P1010057She came back with ice cream and as far as Turdy was concerned, this was the best meal ever!!!

P1010061And…we’re done!  

The weekend can be over now!

10 Comments
  1. May 29, 2009 16:53

    Now see, here I was going to be so nice and let you know about Kamaboko, but I see others have already done so. Silly Silly Steph! They are actually pretty good! They really don’t taste like fish.

    • okistephie permalink*
      May 29, 2009 21:35

      Whatever! Only fish should taste like fish. Ok, I mean the fish that I caught in the lake back home should taste like fish. I would never throw my fish in a blender only to shape it into a disk to eat later in my soup! Weird!!! Sounds like something only an Asian kid would do! ha ha ha ha! Am I racial profiling?!

      Stephanie Borud stephanie.borud@yahoo.com https://okistephie.wordpress.com

  2. Lisa permalink
    May 28, 2009 14:28

    I need to get directions from you. This looks like a place just for my kids!

  3. Nikki permalink
    May 27, 2009 14:40

    Bella’s FAVORITE part of the Ramen is the fish cakes! They are so pretty and she immediately SNARFS those first! LOL

  4. Katherine permalink
    May 26, 2009 23:52

    Teeth-picks! Of course, your Turd Boy is just much smarter than the rest of us… because you do use them for more than just one tooth.

  5. May 26, 2009 22:24

    HAHA! Silly girl, that pretty pink & white thing is a fish cake. Kamaboko. White fish, steamed, formed into a loaf and sliced. (and artificially colored, but pretty nonetheless) Definitely NOT pork fat. 🙂
    More like – gefilte fish.

Comments are closed.

