Skip to content

Dragon Boat Races

May 22, 2009

The first week in May, my friend Margot participated in a traditional Dragon Boat Race at Tomari Port in Naha, Okinawa.  It was the best afternoon off I’ve taken in a long time!  Paul took the day off of work and we took Turd-Boy along with us too.  Turdy was so excited to go see Margot in a race.  I have to say, so was I.  Before the races that day, I had seen pictures of these races but I’ve never seen them with my own eyes or rather…my camera lens!  It…was…so…COOL!  To say the least!  One thing I might change about the race next year…I’d maybe put me in one of the boats on a team!  Such a neat way to be part of the local tradition!  

This year, I was asked to come and hang out and enjoy the afternoon and the festival-like atmosphere.  So I obliged and I was even approached to model for this advertisement for a local grown beer!  Yumm!  Being the nice girl that I am, I said Hell Yeah!  You only gotta tell me ‘Beer’ once and I’m there!  The photographer did a great job, don’t you guys think?  He really did a good job making me look like a local!

 

DSC_0021Isn’t it amazing what you can do with Photoshop these days?!?!  Ha ha ha!  In reality, I just wished this was me on that day.  Actually, I wouldn’t mind being this girl every day!  She’s beautiful and has great shoulders!  I’d like that!  Heck yeah!

Anyway…sit back and grab yourself a cold one and enjoy my view of the Race.  To set the scene a little bit for you, the temp. was a sunny 75’ish degrees or so.  The sun was out and it was proud of it!  There was a nice breeze that just barely kept the sweat off my brow.  Awesome, right?!  

DSC_0195

DSC_0196

DSC_0199

DSC_0201

DSC_0220

DSC_0221Do you SEE how blue the water is???  It’s freakin’ beautiful!  I usually do a tiny bit of tweaking to my photos but in all honesty, I just sharpened each image a bit and that was it!  Wow!  

So after the race that Margot was in because there were several!  We roamed around the festival a little bit.  It was just like any other festival on the island.  Local food vendors, BEER, games and little kiddy rides and the kicker…Cotton Candy!  Here’s Pj when he asks Daddy for some Cotton Candy.

DSC_0236Do you see his sweet, little, chubby arm pointing to the evil, just-slap-it-on-my-thighs, Cotton Candy?

DSC_0237Look at him lickin’ his chops!  He can’t wait to get his hands on it!

DSC_0244Turd-Boy’s first taste of Cotton Candy!

DSC_0245

DSC_0246“More, Daddy?!  More?!”  

So after seeing Turdy eat his first bite of Cotton Candy, I glance over to see the Cotton Candy Dude making a fresh batch.  Yummmy!  

DSC_0238A sweet tonado of cavity-goodness or badness.  However you look at it you may be right!

DSC_0239So neat!  I wish I had a Cotton Candy machine.  I’d sit and stare at it all day spinnin’ that sugar!  But who would be putting the spun sugar on the thingy?  Not me, I’d be staring at it!

DSC_0240It’s transcending!  Hipnotizing!

DSC_0241Friggin’ awesome stuff!

Alright, I’m done for now.  I must go find something sweet in the kitchen.  Hmmm, what do I have?  I think I have some Balls in the freezer!  Watch out Balls!  Here I come!

4 Comments
  1. May 26, 2009 06:46

    I haven’t been by in a while, but oh I love those pics of the dragon boat races! I’d SOOOO want to be the person who stands. I know, it would take some talent, but still…that looks awesome!!

  2. Tara permalink
    May 24, 2009 21:25

    next time go to the Dragon Boat Race in Itoman. It is much smaller that the one in Naha but it is just as much fun. The is one race where the people in the boat have turn the boat over in the water and then get back in the boat. Pretty fun!!!

    • okistephie permalink*
      May 24, 2009 21:46

      Yeah, that does sound like fun! Might have to check that one out next year.. There was also one in Yomitan, I think. I had a client that said she was still training for the Dragon Boat races which I thought were all done and she said there was a smaller one there.

      Stephanie Borud stephanie.borud@yahoo.com https://okistephie.wordpress.com

Comments are closed.

