Skip to content

Bunnies And Blankies

May 14, 2009

*Time’s up, everyone!  Thanks for playing!  I will announce the winner later on today!

 

I told ya I had another one!  I’m feeling generous once again.  Time to give this cute little one away.    

DSC_0001

DSC_0006

This Ninja Bunny is baby-safe just like the other one.  The same goes for the Tag Blankie.  Once again, Nikki’s generous donation of these adorable Bunnies and Blankies just blows me away!  She’s so stinkin’ talented!  I wish I could sew.  I wish I had her creativity.  Now some would say, “Now Steph, you do have talent and creativity!”  But I beg to differ!  I think of people like Nikki and scrapbookers and people who make thier own clothes as talented and creative.  I may have a different talent.  But I sure can’t make doilies and Ninja Bunnies in your hair!  

I would also like to throw in a bonus from Nikki.  She gave me this adorable little guy to add in.  Now, I contemplated just keeping him for myself but then I started to feel guilty.  And eventually, Nikki might notice I never gave him away.  So fine!  I’ll throw him in on this giveaway.  

DSC_0015

Of course, baby-safe just like the other dudes but…with Monster’s Inc. all over him!  I can’t resist him!  He’s so soft and sweet.  I’m thinking about washing him with Turd-Boy’s Lavendar and Chamomile Shampoo to make him even sweeter!  

DSC_0016

How sweet is his little face?  

closeup

I mean, who wouldn’t want to snuggle up with that face!  Sweet!

Oh look!  He’s playing Peekaboo with us!

DSC_0013

Now look!  He’s showing us his hiney!

DSC_0011

So the question is…Are you ready for this week’s question?  

We had a celebration today.  I went to pick Turd-Boy up from daycare today and 15 minutes before I arrived his caregivers said that he had poo-poo’ed in the potty!!!  I screamed and gave him Hi-5’s and because I was so excited, the rest of the kids in the room decided to join in on the fun and everyone came over to give hugs and Hi-5’s!  It was such a joyous occasion for me.  Turd-Boy didn’t share in my enthusiasm.  I guess it’s typical fashion of a Turd-Boy.  As I said in the last contest post, Turd-Boy won’t be turning 3 until September but I have anxiety over the potty issue because he is a boy and he doesn’t seem to be terribly uncomfortable in a poopy diaper.  Pains me, I tell you.  I need tips and tricks from all of you!  I need incentive for Turd-Boy and the potty.  I have tried M&M’s for even sitting on the potty for 5 minutes but because he really doesn’t want to sit on the potty, he’s totally ok with not getting the M&M’s!  Grrrrr!  I’ve tried going to the potty myself and when I am done, showing him that I did my job and eating the M&M’s in front of him and he’s all, “Uh, I want M&M’s mommy!”  I’ll say, “Well you have to go pee-pee in the potty to get some.”  He says, “No!”  And proceeds to run away.  

I’ve heard using Cheerios as targets.  Haven’t tried it yet.  I’ve heard of telling him to go make bubbles in the potty, haven’t tried that yet either.  I do believe that Turd-Boy knows exactly what to do in the potty.  He just doesn’t want to because he’s…he’s………LAZY!  I think Turd-Boy rather enjoys getting his diaper changed.  But at the same time, doesn’t like to get his diaper changed!  Does any of this make sense?  Any advice would be greatly taken into consideration.  I will try anything!  

And that’s all you have to do to enter the contest!  Submit your entry in the Comments section and you’re entered!  Yup, that’s it!  If you don’t have any advice, just tell me how you were potty trained or how your cousin was potty trained or a funny potty training story or something about potty training!  It’ll be fun to hear the stories!

Rules:

1.  Only one entry per person please, play nicely.

2.  If you don’t comment, then you’re no fun.

3.  The winner will be chosen randomly @ http://www.random.org/.  

The contest will end on the morning of Wednesday, May 20 (Oki time) and I will announce the winner later on that day.  So be sure to check back to see if you’ve won!

Feel free to check out Nikki’s blog to see if she’s gotten her talents into something new!  Like I said, she’s artsy fartsy and she’s fun.  I enjoy her!  

Hey Nikki!  If you’re reading this, I need to make an order for some Key Fobs!  I so want one that it has multiple key rings but all on one Fob.  Is that right?  Need something cool to show off to my friends!  Yes, I have friends.  No…they’re not imaginary!  

Okay everyone, gimme your potty training advice! 

Ready?

Set?

Go!

5 Comments
  1. May 15, 2009 15:52

    Sorry, I don’t have any good potty advice that hasn’t been said already. Plus I have girls. We did the underwear thing, letting them feel wet or icky if the peed or pooped in their underwear. It seems to have worked. At leaset I really, really hope so at this stage in their life, if not we’re in big poop.

  2. Christine permalink
    May 14, 2009 22:45

    So, I don’t mean to get all “nurse-y” on you, but unfortunately, you just have to wait for him to be ready. You can try to coax him along (with bribery or other little tricks), but really, he has to be ready to go in the potty. That being said (adding on to Bethany’s comment), I had a fellow nurse friend who told me that she put a little dish soap and a couple drops of food coloring in the potty for her son so when he pee’d, it made colored bubbles. I guess he got a kick out of that. Of course, that doesn’t work for poop, but it’s half the battle.

  3. Cindy permalink
    May 14, 2009 21:53

    My grandson was around four and still refusing to use the potty. He would even go into a corner and do his business and then get upset if anyone looked at him. To me this meant that he very well knew what he was doing and was just being stubborn (or perhaps even lazy) about using the potty. We were very concerned about Kindergarten so we (I) got desperate. He had a Playstation so I picked up a couple of games that I knew he would love. They were put up on a shelf because they were only for big boys who didn’t wear diapers anymore. He was told he would just have to wait until he was “big” enough to play them. This relaxed my daughter enough that she wasn’t getting angry when he went in his diaper. Low and behold he started using the potty shortly after that. Bribery…works everytime!! ;0)

    I also like Lisa’s idea about the underwear.

  4. Bethany permalink
    May 14, 2009 18:43

    Have you tried adding a couple of drops of blue food coloring to the water? When pee hits the water, it turns green. If you are brave enough, you could try regular underwear outside, so he really feels the wetness when he pees. That’s all I really have, as the potty training with Baby Signs is aimed more at younger children.

  5. Lisa permalink
    May 14, 2009 18:28

    A couple of things that have worked for us: Get him underwear in a character that he really likes. Tell him not to get Elmo wet or poopie. When Carter was little, he liked Buzz Lightyear. We had a friend from Jeff’s work call and pretend to be buzzlightyear. Buzz told him how great it was that he was going potty on the chair and to keep up the good job. Hope that helps!

Comments are closed.

