Skip to content

I’m In The Giving Mood

April 30, 2009
tags: ,

Time’s up!  I will announce the winner later on today!

 

And that means it’s time for a giveaway!  Yippee!!!  This one is going to be a little bit different.  My long-time client Nikki has helped with this prize.  I contacted her because first of all, she is one of THE nicest people on this island and she’s extremely talented.  To put it plainly, she sews.  But plain is clearly not what attracts the average person to her sweet treasures!  You see, Nikki taught herself how to sew.  She borrowed a quilting book from her MIL (mother in law) and get this, she “just kind of figured it out.”  Ummm, my MIL has a gazillion quilting books in her possession and I’ve perused through them often and I’ve known her for like 11 years and NOPE, don’t know the first thing about sewing!  Anyway, Nikki’s been sewing since 2002 and now loves to create fun characters like the Ninja Bunny.  I must say that I have a Ninja Bunny of my own and we’ve had ours since the Skater Boy was about 1.  He’s so soft and cuddly.  He’s definitely a great night time friend.  He often times scares away the Boogie Monster for me…er, Skater Boy.  (Awkwarrrrrrd!)

dsc_0002

So guess what?!  Nikki has sent over a Ninja Bunny along with an adorable Tag Blankie for a lucky reader!  This one in particular is for a boy because I am partial to boys.  I married one, I gave birth to one and truth be told…I’ve always been a little boy crazy!  

dsc_0005

This Ninja Bunny and Tag Blankie makes for a great gift for your own little boy or someone you know who has a boy.  (Duh!)  I’m pretty sure that a little girl would enjoy this Tag Blankie too.  But whose to say that I don’t have another Ninja Bunny and a girly Tag Blankie in my possession for another giveaway?  Hmmmmm?  Whose to say?  Do you ever feel like you’re having a conversation with yourself?  I do.  Often.  Pretty much every time I write in my blog.  Ya know, a blog pretty much is a diary.  At first, I started blogging to publish my memories from our experiences here on Oki and now it’s exploded and it’s more like virtual diary-uh!  Get it?!  Diary, Diarhhea/diary-uh???  Not laughing?  Whatev…On with the giveaway!

So like I said, Nikki has presented me with Ninja Bunny and Tag Blankie to give away to a lucky reader.  I bet you’re wondering what kind of question I’m going to ask, aren’t you?  Me too!  

Wait!  

I’ve got it!  

Skater Boy’s 3rd birthday is coming up in September and I’ve tossed around a few ideas as to where to have the party.  It’s definitely not going to be here at his home.  Quite frankly, I am not cleaning this house just to have it messed up by a bunch of tiny maniacs!  So, I will be having it somewhere where the cleanup is not up to me.  Help me!  Give me some ideas!!!  Just comment up above and you’re automatically entered into the contest.  If you don’t have any ideas, comment anyway.  Tell me I’m pretty or weird or pretty weird if it makes you happy.

Remember the rules though:

1.  Only one entry per person please, play nicely.

2.  If you don’t comment, then you’re no fun.

3.  The winner will be chosen randomly @ http://www.random.org/.  The contest will end on the morning of Wednesday, May 6 (Okinawa time) and I will announce the winner later on that day.  So be sure to check back to see if you’ve won!  

***Do me a favor and go check out Nikki’s blog, http://www.multibeavo.blogspot.com.  She has put a bunch of her cool creations on there and she’s also a great photographer!  Enjoy it!  She’s one of my favorites!  

BTW!  She makes these really cool things called KeyFobs and I may put in an order of a few of these for me my friends.  Raise your hand if you never lose your keys in the bottom of your purse!  (Me raising hand)  Nikki does custom orders on everything you will see on her blog except for her crochet items.  But anything that can be sewn, she’s game!  

***Email Nikki at mulitbeavo@hotmail.com if you would like to make an order!

Good Luck!!!

 

 




11 Comments
  1. Matt Olstad permalink
    May 2, 2009 20:36

    I think you should have his birthday party here at my house. That is getting close to when we are going to have our baby so that means you will be here for that too. Think about it amongst yourselves and let me know what you think. Love you Stephy!

  2. OkiStephie2 (Stephanie C) permalink
    May 1, 2009 18:40

    Well, I don’t have kids (except the furry four-legged kind) but I think you need a slip-n-slide… what better way for kids to have fun and spend that cake induced energy boost.

  3. Tara permalink
    May 1, 2009 08:09

    Okay,so I have a key fob from Nikki and LOVE it! Come to think of it, I need to contact her….Anyway, what about a make it, take it sort of session. The Arts and Crafts Center has some really cool ideas for kids. Plus, it’s indoors just in case it’s too hot or the weather doesn’t cooperate. Oh, and there’s always Monakids Jungle. That’s seems to be a popoular bday spot.

  4. Mary permalink
    May 1, 2009 07:32

    W_E_L_L_!!! I was going to suggest the USO for inside and Comprehensive Park for outside for the 3 year old crowd. B_U_T_, it looks like everyone else already suggested that! Oh well. . .
    mary

  5. Tiffiney permalink
    May 1, 2009 06:53

    If you want some of that nice off-base feel–Araha beach has that Pirate Park with the big ship and play area. You can rent their covered areas and BBQ too. Everyone can still swim. The scenery makes for GREAT photos. Take it from me–I have some great family shots there.

  6. Megan Thiel permalink
    May 1, 2009 06:14

    I agree with Torii, but just to throw another idea out there, how’s about Kadena Marina? Lovely scence, decent park and good central location. But, my favorite is Torii. Especially now, since they put in the water feature and updated the slide. Have a beach boy party! Wish I would be here for it!
    ;0
    Megan

  7. The Woods permalink
    May 1, 2009 05:27

    Sept should still be nice here so something outdoors where they can run around and use up that energy!! Do a BBQ at a park, get a big blow up jumper and let them play! I do think Torri Beach is a good on too though!!

  8. Christina Scarborough permalink
    April 30, 2009 22:02

    Well, since we just had our party there, I think Spocha at Round 1 is totally cool. It has something for ALL ages as you found out last weekend. However, it will depend on your budget. You can do it several ways–pay for the kiddos and ask the parents to pay for themselves, pay for everyone but be sure to ask everyone to be on time to get the 20% discount rate for having 20+ people, only doing the party for the 90 min. time instead of the 3 hr. time will also keep the budget down a bit, but there’s SO much to do that 90 min. is hard to get it all in.

    On the other hand, being a Sept. b-day means the weather is usually great for being at the beach/pool, too (as long as a typhoon doesn’t show up). Chibana’s pool is nice for little ones because it’s covered and doesn’t have a real deep end. Torii’s pool is nice because they let you bring all the floatie toys and such. Torii beach is nice because then you have the beach, slide, and park area–something for everyone.

    There you have my 2 cents!

  9. Bethany permalink
    April 30, 2009 21:35

    I have to agree with Torii Beach, but Comprehensive Park would be pretty cool too. You might have to deal with locals wandering in there though.

  10. Marti Fisk permalink
    April 30, 2009 21:26

    You could have a movie party at the USO on Kadena. Most 3 year olds don’t sit thru a whole movie but others of all ages can go and enjoy it even with kids running around. I think it seats 18 and you could bring cake and pizza. Its fun!

  11. Erin Hodgkinson permalink
    April 30, 2009 20:53

    Ok so one of my fav bday party spots is at Torii Beach. With the water slide, fountain, sand, sea and jumpies everyone is happy!

Comments are closed.

