Skip to content

STUFF POSING AS MEAT

April 8, 2009
tags:

dsc_0045

That’s what Bill Engvall calls SPAM.  We never eat the stuff because growing up we just thought it was supposed to be this gross canned meat product.  Kinda like those little wieners in a can.  The only canned meat that I ever got to eat was tuna and on great occasions when mom and dad were invited to a party and my mom would have to make something to bring, she would make a cheeseball!  Her cheeseball was made with Deviled Ham!  Yumm!  

I never once remember Mom in the kitchen making us SPAM sandwiches or frying up some SPAM to eat alongside our eggs.  So we never ate it.  

My husband decides that on our last trip to the commissary that we should get some SPAM and fry it up and have SPAM sandwiches.  

So we do..

And it’s different.  

Very salty.

After half of a sandwich, I’m feeling full of SPAM and I push it away.  

Then my little vulture comes in and attacks the rest of my sandwich and this is what he left.

dsc_0052

He left his leftover Hangaburger and french fries for a SPAM sandwich!  What’s wrong him?!  

dsc_0053

Then I remember, that he loves meat!  And he loves salty stuff too!  (Umm, that is not the little vulture’s beer!  It just happened to sneak into the photo.  But those are his wipes.)

I, on the other hand, do not.

dsc_0049

I think my cholesterol spiked with this 1 sandwich.  There’s enough fat in one serving of this Stuff for a freaking horse!  On the plus side, there is only 1 Carb and 180 calories per serving.  Really?  Can this Stuff be good for you?  Really?

dsc_0048

Don’t think I’ll be making this recipe anytime soon.

dsc_0050

Seriously?!  Does this stuff really make you scream, “I can’t wait to go home and have a SPAM sammy!”???  Does real meat have a jelly substance covering it too?  Seriously?!

Do I have time on my hands or what?!?!

4 Comments
  1. April 17, 2009 07:02

    OK OK OK, I know I am behind and catching up. But I have to comment on this post. How can you have lived in Okinawa for 5 years and not had Spam before? Don’t you know it’s an Okinawan delicacy?!? Goya Champaru, well just about any Chumparu, onigiri, etc will have Spam. They have the idea though. Instead of getting that full blown salt attack, they actually even out the salt with the other ingredients. For instance, Goya Chumparu? Now, who doesn’t like Goya? Oh, wait, that’s right, most Americans. Well, our family loves it! The trick is to make it yourself. The wonderfully bitter taste of the Goya itself can be overwhelming for the American pallette, so that is why they added the Spam. The salty taste of the Spam actually cuts the bitterness of the Goya. Unfortunately when you guy Goya Chumparu off base, they usually give you that lovely deep friend chunk on top o the Goya. No, you are not supposed to eat that first, or last, you are supposed to eat it a little bit at a time with bites of the goya. I make it a bit different. I buy the lite Spam and cut it into little 1/2″ chunks, I fry it first with my garlic, and remove it from my wok. Then I fry my Tofu in the Dashi and add the goya, which I have lightly par boiled with 1tsp salt and 1 tsp sugar (my sons idea). Then I add the Spam back in and I add the Seaweed Dashi and whatever veg I want to use (usually bean sprouts, green onions in 2″ section and sometimes cabbage. day before yesterday I used an entire bag of fresh Spinach, YUM NUMMY). Then I return the Spam to the wok and make a small well in the middle and add my egg. Mix it together and the eggs will bind it all together a bit more. YUM NUMMY! Don’t give up on Spam just yet. Just find someone who knows how to use it. I say the same about Okinawan dining, don’t give up on it, just find a good place to eat it.

    • okistephie permalink*
      April 17, 2009 10:52

      I get the point! Geez! So, the next time you come over you’re going to make this for me? I can’t guarantee that I will eat it though! I know that Goya is supposed to be great for one’s health but the last time I tried Goya, I can’t say that my health benefited from it! Maybe my gag reflexes got stronger.

  2. Dana permalink
    April 10, 2009 23:43

    Now you gotta try fried bologna sandwiches with mayo, lettuce, and tomato. Better be careful though, if you keep frying all your meals I’ll have to make you an honorary Southerner. Now all you have to do is practice your pig call. Repeat after me, “soooooooooie pig, pig, pig, pig, pig!!!” Miss ya, crazy girl.

    • okistephie permalink*
      April 11, 2009 08:23

      Oh Dana, I miss your sarcasm! You’re so funny! I miss you too!

Comments are closed.

